LUXURY LIPPIES: ARE THEY WORTH IT? + COMPARISON

Let’s take a look at some of the luxury lipsticks and lip products in my collection!

ChanelRouge Coco Lipstick ($37) Here

This product is an ultra hydrating lipstick with a gorgeous natural, yet pigmented finish. Looks amazing every time!

Pros

  • Very hydrating
  • Creates plump lips
  • Non-sticky formula
  • Natural satin shine finish
  • Packaging

Cons

  • Lighter shades can come off slightly sheer

 

Rouge Double Intensite ($37) Here 

This product is a liquid to matte lip colour along with a high shine top coat on the other end. This is great because you are able to have two looks in one! 

Pros

  • Dual ended
  • Extremely comfortable on the lips
  • Highly pigmented
  • Long lasting
  • Transfer proof
  • High shine top coat is incredible

Cons

  • Colour selection is limited

 

Is it worth it? 

Yes!

Chanel lip products are definitely worth it in my books. From the gorgeous lip finishes to the packaging, nothing falls short in my eyes. Another huge reason this products are worth it, is that I have never had products like these before. You can find a satin finish lipstick anywhere but its plumping effect, fullness it gives the lips and unique natural finish it has is incomparable. As well, the high shine top coat alongside the matte liquid lip is something very innovative coming from Chanel. Two thumbs up from me on these products and I can truly say Chanel has some of my holy grail and most used lippies!

YSLRouge Pur Couture ($42) Here

This product had high expectations from me as it is a very talked about product in the beauty community as well as being ysl’s bestselling products but yet fell short in my eyes.

Pros

  • Packaging
  • Colour selection

Cons

  • Grainy feeling on the lips
  • Streaky
  • Smears
  • Slightly oily formula
  • Not long lasting
  • Price

 

Gloss Volupte ($35) Here

This product was my attempt at trying out another ysl lip product in hopes to find another talked about product that I may love. This however did not impress me like I hoped it would have.

Pros

  • Wand/Applicator

Cons

  • Sheer
  • Shades all look very similar on the lips
  • Smell
  • Packaging
  • Glitter is too large

 

Is it worth it? 

Nope.

I really have tried to love ysl lippies but haven’t found that successful at all. The lipstick was a 100% no for me, the formula was not up to par in my books and for the price it was definitely a letdown. Gorgeous packaging however. The lip gloss didn’t really do much for me either. It somewhat reminded me of kids glitter lip gloss in which there was no substantial colour pay off or shine only large glitter that had multicolored reflex. The packaging was somewhat light weight and the silver ysl logo wiggles/is loose. The smell also turns me off from using it. Overall it’s a big pass on these from me, maybe I give ysl another go for lippies in the future. If any of my readers love a product I haven’t tried yet, please let me know in the comments!

Tom FordLips & Boy Collection ($36) Here

This product is an amazing full coverage silky smooth lipstick that creates an opaque colour with comfort to the lips.

Pros

  • Amazing colour selection
  • Silky smooth formula
  • Creamy
  • Non-drying
  • Full coverage
  • Packaging

Cons

  • Price

 

Is it worth it?

Yes!

These lipsticks are the best in the luxury department hands down when it comes to full coverage lipsticks. These are worth every penny due to its stunning colour selection, feel and colour pay off. However these are one of the most expensive lipsticks, the boy collection I have featured here is the smaller size in which they are $36 a pop, but the regular full size tubes do go from $46 to $55 each. However this is a luxury brand and if the quality holds up to the price I don’t mind spending the extra dollar. Amazing lipsticks! Also one of my favourite luxury makeup brands.

 

One thought on “LUXURY LIPPIES: ARE THEY WORTH IT? + COMPARISON

Leave a Reply

